Our Mission

Committed to improving the quality of life to those we serve through person-centered, compassionate care.

Carey Counseling Center is here for you.

We are dedicated to serving Northwest Tennessee by offering a full range of community-based, behavioral health services. Our staff is made up of highly-trained, caring professionals who are dedicated to helping individuals and families in our communities cope with mental illness, while contributing to the overall health of our communities.

We’re A premier behavioral health center

Carey Counseling Center, Inc. is committed to responding directly to community needs. CAREY was established in 1970 as a not-for-profit community behavioral health center. CAREY’s commitment to providing leading edge technology in behavioral health services has established the company as one of the most respected community mental health centers in West Tennessee.

Our Vision

Building healthy communities

Our Leadership

Our Leadership Team has over 100 years of combined experience in their fields. Many have been with Carey Counseling Center for over 20 years and strive to lead by serving others.

Brent Bullock

Chief Executive Officer

Jo Kendrick

Chief Financial Officer

Dr. John Kupfner, MD

Medical Director

Abbey Buffington, LPC MHSP

Outpatient Clinical Director

Dena Zipp, BSSW, MSEd

Special Projects Coordinator

Krystina Shafer

Director of Residential Services

Lettie Pirtle

Director of Housing

Lori Hendon

Director of School Based Services

Matthew Orphanides, LCSW

Director of Crisis Services

Michelle Eaton

Director of Finance

Sean Jones, LCSW

Clinical Operations Officer

Shannon Newsome

Director of Human Resources

Tonya Drewry, LCSW

Director of Early Intervention Services

Kevin Adams

Senior Lead Nurse Practitioner

Shelly Jones

Compliance Officer

Rachel Bradford

Director of Case Management and Peer Support Services

Board of Directors

Adding to this focused leadership, our volunteer governing board of directors is comprised of professionals and community leaders with a broad range of experience in a variety of industries. Together, these executives and devoted volunteers work to further the cause of behavioral health, leading the industry in advances in research and practices.

Nick Priddy

John Hatler

Rakaya Humphreys

Sylvia Humphreys

Petra McPhearson

Cindy West

Lori Cantrell

Jason Kizer

Donna Vick

Norma Gerrell